Crash on Not Reported at Not Reported, Merkel, Texas

Tuesday, October 13, 2026 at 12:47 AM

Injury crashTexas severity: Suspected serious injury4 vehicles
Texas crash ID
21696429
Agency case number
TX26-2407449

From the TxDOT CRIS public extract, record last updated October 25, 2026. No changes since first published.

Where and when

Location
Not Reported at Not Reported
City, county
Merkel, Taylor County
Road system
IH
Lanes
4
Posted speed limit
75 mph
At intersection
No
First harmful event
Motor Vehicle in Transport
Commercial vehicle involved
Yes
Weather
Clear
Light
Dark, Not Lighted
Road surface
Dry
Hit and run
No
People involved
2
Injured
2
Killed
0

Vehicles and people

Shaded: damage area

Unit 1: 2020 Freightliner Cascadia 126

Blue Truck Tractor

VIN
•••••••••••••7576
Damage
L&T - Left Side and Top Damage Rollover Effects, Damaged 5
Towed
B&S Wrecker Service (Rotation)
Proof of financial responsibility
Yes
Direction of travel
Southeast
  • Driver, male, 34
    Suspected serious injury
Damage area not recorded

Unit 2

Shaded: damage area

Unit 3: 2016 Western Star/Auto Car 5700 XE

Blue Truck Tractor

VIN
•••••••••••••8155
Damage
Front End (Left) Damage Partial Contact, Damaged 4
Towed
J&S Towing (Request)
Proof of financial responsibility
Yes
Direction of travel
Northeast
  • Driver, male, 55Restraint: Shoulder & Lap Belt
    Possible injury
Damage area not recorded

Unit 4

What the officer recorded

Contributing factor
SWERVED OR VEERED-AVOIDING PREVIOUS ACCIDENTas recorded on the report
Unit 1 contributing factor
DISABLED IN TRAFFIC LANEas recorded on the report
Unit 1 charge
FAIL TO DRIVE IN SINGLE LANE (citation TXC266620988)as recorded on the report

A contributing factor or charge recorded by an officer is not a finding of fault or a conviction. We show the record as the state released it.

Nearby and recent

5 crashes recorded on Not Reported in Merkel in the last 12 months, 2 with injuries.

All Merkel crashes, October 2026

About this record

Source
TxDOT CRIS public extract
Updates
Changes the state makes to this record are applied here when the source publishes them
First published here
October 25, 2026
Last updated
October 25, 2026, no changes recorded
What is left out
Names, addresses, plates, and license and insurance numbers are not in the public data and never appear here

Were you involved and want this page removed?Request removal of this record